Skip to content

Chicken Chili Burgers

March 2, 2010

Chicken Chili Burgers

I’m a huge fan of poultry-based burgers.  I love turkey burgers, but my all time favorite ever is the Asian Chicken Burger, which I’m sure I’ve referred to about a half dozen times.  I wanted to make a chicken burger this week, and I wanted to try something a little different from the usual Asian Chicken Burger, which I’ve made so many times before.  I found this recipe for Chicken Chili Burgers from the blog Elly Says Opa! The burgers themselves were great, but I, like an idiot, forgot to add salt!  DO NOT forget to do this when you make them at home — it’s a critical piece to bring out all the flavors that are in this burger.  I also added a few tablespoons of panko to bind the burger.  It definitely helped!

Chicken Chili Burgers

adapted from Elly Says Opa!

  • 1 lb. ground chicken
  • 1/2 c. drained and rinsed kidney beans, slightly mashed
  • 1 small onion, finely minced
  • 1 chipotle pepper in adobo
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 tsp. ancho chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2 tbsp. panko breadcrumbs
  • salt and pepper (DO NOT FORGET IT!)

1.  Blend the chipotle pepper and lime juice (I used one of the awesome attachments to my hand blender!) until smooth.

2.  Mix together with chicken and remaining ingredients until well combined.

3.  Form into patties and cook on the griddle or grill.

Enjoy!  (See….super easy!)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

