Skip to content

Banana Bread

September 18, 2010

Banana Bread

Back in the beginning of the year, I made a promise to myself to master some sort of quick bread this year, so that I had a go-to recipe and could give out my lovely loaves of bread to others.  I didn’t do anything about this goal just yet, and so I thought this weekend might be a good time to work on it.  I found a recipe for Buttermilk Banana Bread on My Kitchen Cafe — and I thought this might be just the ticket.  I decided to use this recipe for my first attempt — and I have to say, it turned out quite well!

Coincidentally, a friend of mine from high school, Mary Catherine just started a blog called Spilled Milk/Broken Bread, and her version of banana bread happened to be one of her first posted recipes.  Hers is a smidge different, but looks absolutely wonderful.  (And, if you haven’t yet, you should follow her blog.  She is a peach.)

This bread is a little bit lighter than others that I have had, but was rich, dense and delicious.  I plan on making SEVERAL more batches (when I have some bananas that are ready to meet their maker/baker).  Perhaps if you’re lucky, you will get one in the mail sometime soon.

Banana Bread

from My Kitchen Cafe

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 1/2 c. sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 c. softened, mashed bananas (I had a few brown bananas that I threw in the freezer several months ago, and thawed them overnight.  Perfecto!)
  • 1/4 c. buttermilk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 3/4 c. flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/8 tsp. baking soda
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Grease and flour your loaf pan.  I used one loaf pan and made a large, but solitary loaf.  You can probably make muffins or small loaf pans to have more to go around.
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together.  Add bananas, eggs, vanilla and buttermilk, until batter is smooth, and golden.  Mix remainder of dry ingredients together by hand, until batter is thick and well combined.
  4. Put batter into your loaf pan, which should be about 3/4 full.  Obviously, if you are making multiple small loafs, divide it up.
  5. Bake for 55 minutes — though mine took almost 85 minutes altogether.  Make sure your toothpick comes out clean!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. MomVicky permalink
    September 24, 2010 8:17 pm

    OK- So here is my comment……the banana bread looks very light and fluffy. I think the buttermilk in the recipe made all the difference…sometimes banana bread can turn out to be heavy, wet and compact, but this looks delicious. You mother would love a piece out of the next batch that you make!

  2. Bobby permalink
    December 8, 2010 2:57 am

    Great stuff. I am getting hungry just thinking about it.

Trackbacks

  1. Double Chocolate Banana Bread « Saucy & Bossy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

