Skip to content

Face plant (or Black Bean Soup)

June 3, 2009

To me, there’s nothing better than a bowl of soup.  Or four bowls of soup.  I could eat it at every meal — including breakfast.  I would rather pay a little extra and get soup with my sandwich instead of fries.  I would maybe have it for dessert.  I am a loud soup eater too.  I slurp, I suck the broth off my spoon, and I am completely unapologetic about it.  That’s just the way I am, and I will likely be giving you a few soup recipes somewhere along the line.

Lucky for me, Marc appreciates this particular affinity and doesn’t object to me cooking it as a comfort food in just about any weather.  In fact, he celebrates it and eats it, too.  Lately, I have been in need of a little good old fashioned comfort, and I knew that the best way to get that would be to face plant into a giant bowl of black bean soup.

We’re on Weight Watchers, and there are a dearth of Weight Watchers’ friendly, low-point soup recipes.  This black bean soup is my personal favorite.  I have added a few things here and there (most notably a couple of cans of fire roasted tomatoes, which I think are absolutely necessary), but you should definitely try it for yourself.  You’ll want to do a face plant into a bowl.  Or four.

Slow Cooker Hearty Black Bean Soup

  • 1/4 lb. chorizo
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 medium garlic clove, minced
  • 1 small red pepper, chopped (I don’t always include this.  Depends on my mood)
  • 2 15-oz. cans of fire roasted tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp. dry sherry
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 15-oz. cans of black beans
  • 1 15-oz. can of fat-free chicken broth
  • Juice of one medium lime
  • Handful of fresh chopped cilantro
  • Salt
  • Pepper

Cut chorizo and brown.  Add onion, garlic and pepper and saute for 5 minutes.  Transfer to crock pot.  Add all other ingredients, except for lime, cilantro, salt and pepper.  Cover and cook on low for 4-5 hours.

Remove lid, add lime, cilantro, salt and pepper.  Simmer uncovered until warmed through.  Yields about 8 1-cup servings.

Each serving is worth 2 Weight Watchers Points!

Enjoy!!

Inspired by the official recipe at weightwatchers.com.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. MomVicky permalink
    June 3, 2009 7:43 pm

    How true! Soup is a great comfort food! Black beans and spicy tomatoes? Does that give comfort too? Just a thought!

  2. June 3, 2009 9:03 pm

    Um, dearest, we have discussed loud eaters. I cannot believe that you would EVER be a slurper! I think I will make this, and eat it quietly.

  3. fabulous in brooklyn permalink
    June 3, 2009 9:30 pm

    But what if you don’t have a slow cooker? More recipes, please!

    • June 3, 2009 9:32 pm

      Don’t worry, you can make it on the stove, but it goes way faster. We’ll put up more recipes. Just add us to your google reader! 🙂

Leave a Reply

