Skip to content

Mexican Hot Chocolate SHHhhnickerdoodles

October 14, 2009

Editor’s Note from ElysabethIt was a busy week for family and cooking.  My brother, Christian, who is a vegetarian and a filmmaker took to the kitchen to make vegan chocolate snickerdoodles.  Are you brave enough?

Congratulations on reading this blog post. You have come a long way in your quest of cooking and baking, and now you are here…

I am neither Saucy NOR Bossy, unless it’s spelled Sossy… then that’s a combination of both… anyway, I thought I’d give this whole guest post thing a whiz and a bang and see how it turns out… hopefully it will be one of many.

My name is Christian Kocinski, I am the self proclaimed Vegan/Vegetarian consultant here on Sossy and Baucey… I am not a vegan, I am a Lacto-Vegetarian, and have been for close to 10 years.  So even though I am not a full fledged vegan (I like a slice of cheese and a glass of milk), I do not eat eggs… not to go into too much detail, but if you see me on the street eating a piece of cake that has clearly been made with eggs, keep in mind that my rule when it comes to egg is, I will neither cook with them, or eat them for breakfast, but if someone gives me a baked good with an egg in it, I’m not going to be that fussy.

Now, moving right along to the heart of the matter… I bake and cook vegan (whenever possible), and so for my first contribution to the Sossy and Baucey Blog, I have chosen to make Mexican Hot Chocolate SHHhhnickerdoodles.

This recipe was taken from the Post Punk Kitchen blog/website, from their book Vegan Cookies Invade Your Cookie Jar

Here is the Link to the blog post, with a very helpful video attached…

But, if you don’t feel like leaving this blog, here is a recap of the recipe.

INGREDIENTS!!!
For the topping:

Ingreients

Ingredients

  • 1/3 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp. ground cinnamon

For the cookies:

  • 1/2 c. canola oil
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/4 c. maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp. soy milk (or regular milk, if you prefer)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. chocolate extract (or more vanilla extract, if you have no chocolate extract)
  • 1 2/3 c. flour
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. cayenne

INSTRUCTIONS!!! OMG!!
Now, I won’t bother copying and pasting this part directly from the recipe I stole borrowed… I’ll just write up the instructions as I did them, complete with colorized photographs.

1) Get 2 1/2 cookie sheets, and line them with parchment paper – This was tricky since the parchment paper rolled in on itself.

2) Gather your ingredients – Something to note… I couldn’t find Chocolate Extract, nobody I know had ever even heard of it… So I just used extra Vanilla.  Also, Nestle’s Cocoa Powder was the cheapest, but if you are a Hershey’s die hard go get the Hershey’s (is Cocoa Powder even vegan?).  Also I chose to use Original Soy Milk, but I’m sure Vanilla Flavored would work as well… I hope you like Soy Milk cause you are going to have a lot left over.

3) The Topping… I started by mixing 1/3 Cup Sugar, with 1 Teaspoon Ground Cinnamon, in a shallow dish… don’t worry about making too much of this, because whatever is left can be sprinkled on toast.

Topping

Topping

4) At some point you are going to have to pre-heat the oven… might as well make it now.  Heat that bad boy up to 350.

5) Now, next thing I did was mix together (with a fork… vigorously) oil,  sugar, syrup, and milk. – Then I mixed in extracts.  (see amounts above)

Wet ingredients

Wet ingredients

6) This is where the instructions get tricky… it says to “sift” in the remaining ingredients… I don’t really know what that means, so I just dumped them all in.  And I opted for a large plastic spoon, instead of a fork at this point… it just made much more sense.  Now the dough should be forming… it should be pliable and doughy, and even a little bit dough like.

Dough-like

Dough-like

7) Okay, now this is the fun part… it’s time to make some balls.  Grab a clump of the doughy dough, and roll them into Walnut Size Balls.  That’s a walnut that hasn’t been shelled yet.  Now push those balls into the cinnamon/sugar mixture and also pat them down into a disc at the same time  (about 2 inches in diameter)… Then transfer the disc cinnamon/sugar side up onto the baking pan.  I fit no more then 12 cookies on a sheet before I move to the next one.

Ready for the oven

Ready for the oven

8) Slide them in the oven… careful now, don’t burn yourself! – What I like to do is put in the first pan, while I’m still prepping the next one… it’s something I’ve seen my dad do when he was baking cookies.  They should be in that oven for like 12 minutes or so… I think next time I’d do them closer to 10.

9) Let them cool for about 5 minutes, and then transfer them to a cooling rack.  Or if you don’t have a cooling rack… do what we did when we were kids… cut up paper shopping bags, and lay them out on your kitchen table, and put the cookies on that.

That’s it folks, it’s all over… the cookies are done… and hopefully they are delicious.IMG_0539

Let me tell you about the cookies… close your eyes, and if you can still read this with your eyes closed, it’s a miracle.  Okay… Now, picture taking a sip of Hot Chocolate, followed by a rush of Cayenne pepper.  That’s what these cookies taste like… They are not for those who have a weak stomach… if you like spicy food, these are the cookies for you.  They are sweet, and spicy, and they taste great with a glass of Soy Milk.

The only thing is that I thought they were a little dry, and not too moist.  This could be do to the soy milk, or lack of eggs… or this could be do to something i did wrong in cookie making 101, I’ll have to consult Alton Brown.

But other then that, I got a lot of good comments on those who enjoy spicy food and also enjoy Mexican Hot Chocolate.

I hope you have a great time making these… and also eating them.

Until Next time, this is Christian Kocinski for Sossy and Baucey saying:  If you burn it, it’s still edible.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2009 8:17 pm

    I cannot wait to make these — I’m a vegetarian, but I LOVE vegan baking!

  2. October 15, 2009 6:15 pm

    mm they look nice!
    check out my baking blog and tell me what you think:
    http://thegodscake.wordpress.com

    Michael

Leave a Reply

