Skip to content

Culinary Goals: 2010

January 1, 2010

Since this is our first year in the food-blog-biz, we didn’t realize that people developed and committed to making cooking/culinary goals for themselves for each year.  Marc and I tossed a few of these goals back and forth and decided to put them out into the internet-universe, with the hope that we’ll stick to them.  Hold us to it.
Elysabeth’s Culinary Goals for 2010

  • Have one “go-to” quick bread — and make it phenomenal.  I want to say “People LOVE my banana bread…” and mean it.
  • Green Papaya Salad — yes, it can be done, and it will be great.
  • I find myself pretty dependent on recipes from food blogs and Cooking Light magazines — but we have so many cookbooks that it doesn’t make sense hang onto them if I’m not going to use them.  This seems like a waste of precious shelf space, so I’d like to go through our myriad of cookbooks and find at least 3 recipes from each cookbook that I’d potentially make.  Otherwise, rid myself of the cookbook.
  • Master the stromboli!
  • Attempt fresh pasta.  This scares the bejeezus out of me.
  • Try to develop an appreciation of the scallop.  It’s my final frontier, as far as seafood goes, I think.
  • Local shopping and/or eating, whenever possible.

Marc’s Culinary Goals for 2010

  • Get a few decent bread recipes under my belt. I have a well-known fear of working with doughs, and even though I took a class I am still a little unnerved. I have been keeping my eye on various methods to bake no-knead breads, and I plan to take a few attempts to get over the fear, but most importantly get an intuition for the necessary ratios needed to make it on a whim.
  • Make a soup stock that doesn’t suck ass. I made a full end-to-end attempt at Pho Ga this year (unposted) which suffered immensely due to the weakness of the chicken stock. I would like to spend a little time this year getting reasonably dense and flavorful chicken and beef (and maybe veal!) stocks going, which will both help our soups and add a much more significant depth to the various pan sauces that I so love to make.
  • Continue my exploration of non-non-stick cooking with the enameled dutch oven, and maybe get a decent heavy stainless steel or aluminum pass for browning meats, good deglazing, and quality sauces.
  • Seconded on the green papaya salad. Thai and Vietnamese varieties.

Here’s to a fantastic 2010!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Aunty Donna permalink
    January 14, 2010 10:49 pm

    Elysa and Marc, your food photos look great! From what I know of the Cooking shows, presentation is the key! But I came here to find my name in print (MomVic told me to come see you in your apron!) I showed it to Granny, too. That’s Granny, the daughter-in-law to the lady who made aprons popular in our family! You may become a calendar girl in your apron!

Trackbacks

  1. Adventures in Baking « Saucy & Bossy
  2. Garlic-Dill Quick Pickles « Saucy & Bossy
  3. Banana Bread « Saucy & Bossy

Leave a Reply

