Skip to content

Garlic Naan (and beyond!)

January 25, 2010

Garlic Naan

As fate would have it, Elysabeth and I experienced the very epitome of a “sister moment”, and made the same thing for dinner on Sunday.  In addition to the Crockpot Chicken Vindaloo, I also followed the recipe for the Garlic Naan.  Sharing a love for Indian food, my roommate and I have yet to find a place around here that gives us that wonderful taste, I thought making this would be a good Sunday project!  Sometimes content with just eating naan and being crazy about garlic, I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to try this.

As a disclaimer, yeast in general scares me. I have never used it before, BUT I decided that in the New Year I would give it a try… It couldn’t be any worse than making my own sausage!  I am really glad that I did because I think that the addition of the naan really made the meal and I am sure my roommate can attest to this!

This recipe was really easy to follow and though my naan didn’t turn out very uniform, I don’t think it really matters, and more importantly, the flavors were spot on!  Consider the addition of making garlic butter instead of just plain butter (which can be made by sautéing garlic in butter for a short period of time, you don’t want the butter to cook out) and then drizzling that on the finished pieces.

Garlic Naan

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1 package active dry yeast
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 4 1/2 cup bread flour or all purpose flour, approximately
  • 2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  1. Combine warm water and yeast in a bowl and let stand until frothy.
  2. Stir in sugar, salt, milk and egg until thoroughly combined.
  3. Begin folding in flour 1 cup at a time until you have a workable ball of dough that isn’t too sticky.
  4. Turn dough out onto a floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic.
  5. Place dough in an oiled bowl, turn to coat, cover with a damp cloth and set someplace warm to rise for 1 hour.
  6. Once dough has risen, punch down and knead in minced garlic. You can leave out the garlic for regular naan.
  7. Form dough into 8 balls. Set out on an oiled cookie sheet to rise for 30 minutes. Cover with a damp cloth.
  8. While dough is rising heat a grill pan, griddle, or heavy skillet to medium high heat.
  9. Roll out one ball into a thin circle about the size of a pancake or the size you want your bread to be.
  10. Brush the surface or the grill with oil and place the dough circle on the hot surface.
  11. Cook several minutes or until brown, brush the uncooked side with melted butter and flip over to cook.
  12. Brush the cooked side with butter and once browned underneath, remove to a plate and keep warm in a warm oven or under a dish towel.  (I actually made garlic butter and brushed that on instead of plain butter which gave it an extra kick!)
  13. Repeat with all dough balls: roll out, grill one side, brush with butter, flip, brush with butter, remove.
  14. Serve warm, sprinkled with chopped parsley or cilantro if desired.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

