Skip to content

Spinach and Parmesan Pizza (…the best laid plans!)

February 15, 2010

Spinach and Parmesan Pizza

This seems almost criminal to post because it was SO easy and so basic, but there’s a story behind it.  Today, Marc and I had planned on making black bean and sweet potato cakes, BUT our sweet potato was rotten.  Like, super rotten, growing black and white mold, and fuzzy.  Disgusting.  I REALLY dislike mold, and so I promptly trashed the offending sweet potato.  I asked Marc what we should do, and he suggested ordering a pizza.  Well, fair readers, as you know, we grocery shop and plan things out far in advance, and pizza was, in fact, on the menu for tomorrow night.  So we bumped it up.  We had all the ingredients and thankfully, we were ready to rock and roll with plan B in just a few seconds.

Because we had just a little time to throw this together (I have to babysit tonight), the dough wasn’t quite as flat and uniform as it could be, but it was still really great.  Marc, with his superior knife skills, cut the onions for this pizza RAZOR thin, which made this pizza extra delicious. Not sure what to do for dinner?  Make this — you can literally throw it together in 2 minutes, and you won’t be sorry.

Spinach and Parmesan Pizza

  • 1 lb. lump of wheat pizza dough
  • 1/3 c. jarred bruschetta topping (I got the Market Basket generic brand, and it fit the bill just fine)
  • 1/2 an onion, sliced razor-thin
  • Healthy handful of spinach leaves, stems broken off
  • 3/4 c. mozzarella cheese
  • Shaved parmesan, enough for your liking
  1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
  2. Flour cookie sheet and spread out dough.
  3. Top pizza with bruschetta topping, making sure it is even.  Add more if you like a saucy pizza
  4. Spread onion pieces and spinach over pizza.
  5. Top with mozzarella and parmesan.
  6. Bake in oven for 10-12 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the crust is cooked.  Let sit for at least 5 minutes before cutting.

Voila.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Niki permalink
    February 25, 2010 1:29 pm

    Okay this is apparently a Saucy & Bossy week at my house. Made this pizza last night. I found a good and easy recipe for whole wheat crust. The only difference to the recipe is that I made carmelized onion and put that on top. Mostly because I don’t like raw onions that much and usually when I cook pizza the onions don’t get done enough for my taste and slicing them “razor thin” scares me haha. I’ve had to many close calls with my kitchen knives. This was honestly one of the best pizzas I’ve ever made. I wanted to keep eating it but we do have some leftovers for tonight. Thanks!!

    • February 25, 2010 1:33 pm

      I’m so glad that you liked this! And I’m super impressed that you made your own crust. That’s definitely not something we’ve managed to do yet…

      I LOVED this too. marc was on the fence about using the bruschetta mix, but I knew better. 🙂

  2. Niki permalink
    February 25, 2010 5:26 pm

    I just started making my own crust cause I was never impressed with the stuff at the store – mostly just the ready to bake ones. I was surprised at how good the brushetta was, although it was kinda pricey at the grocery stores around here. I also used a ton, I like it saucy!
    You guys could so do your own crust, you do many things that seem difficult to me.

    • February 25, 2010 5:28 pm

      We’re both terrified of yeast! I want to make that no-knead bread that everyone keeps talking about. Maybe next weekend. I don’t like the pillsbury kind of dough, but one of our grocery stores just sells their dough in a 1 lb. lump. When I lived in Milwaukee, I used to go to Sciortino’s on the east side and get their dough for $1.

      Trader Joe’s has bruschetta — but we just got ours at a regular grocery store (the regular generic kind).

Leave a Reply

