Skip to content

Cookbook Cleanout: Chorizo and Tomato Stew with Zesty Parsley Sprinkle

April 12, 2010

Chorizo and Tomato Stew with Zesty Parsley Sprinkle

Back when I first knew of something called The Food Network, I used to LOVE me some Rachael Ray.  I thought she was fun, kicky, and I really dug her show $40 a Day.  After she became more of a branded entity, I grew away from Rachael Ray.  I really couldn’t get into her catchphrases and, as anyone who knows me knows, the more ubiquitous things become, the less likely I am to gravitate towards it.  (Side note:  This is why I have never ever ever opened a Harry Potter book.  True story.)

Anyway, I do have a few Rachael Ray cookbooks lying around the house and so I decided to include one of them (Rachael Ray 365: No Repeats) in my cookbook cleanout campaign.  Marc and I agree that much of Ray-Ray’s cookbooks seem to be filled with “yummo” football food — giant, meat-filled sandwiches, and things that are stuffed with cream cheese.  Everything she makes seems to be accessible, but the variety isn’t always there.  Thumbing through this cookbook, though, I found a recipe that seemed decently healthy (i.e., not stuffed with cheese), and actually included some ingredients that we already had in the house.

I definitely plan to keep this cookbook around for a little while — it is HUGE and probably full of great stuff.  I just need to weed out the crap to find more recipes like this.

Note:  I definitely did not make this meal in 30 minutes —  I let the stew cook down for a while, to make the potatoes soft.

Chorizo and Tomato Stew with Zesty Parsley Sprinkle

from Rachael Ray 365:  No Repeats

  • 2 tbsp. olive oil, plus more for drizzling
  • 3/4 lb. chorizo, thinly sliced
  • 3 garlic cloves, one crushed, 2 chopped
  • 1 large yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 celery ribs, chopped
  • 1 large carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 4 medium red potatoes, cut in half and then thinly sliced
  • 1 tbsp. fresh thyme leaves, chopped (from 4 sprigs)
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper
  • 2 15-oz cans diced fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 2 c. chicken stock or broth
  • 4 thick slices of crusty, country-style bread
  • 1/2 c. fresh flat-leaf parsley leaves
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • zest of 1 orange
  1. Preheat a large soup pot over medium-high heat with 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Add the chorizo and cook, stirring frequently for 3 minutes.  Add the 2 chopped cloves of garlic, the onions, celery, carrots, potatoes, thyme, salt and pepper, and cook for 3-4 minutes.  Add the tomatoes and the chicken stock and bring to a bubble.  Then turn the heat down to medium low and simmer for at least 20 minutes, or until potatoes are soft and stew is slightly thickened.
  2. While the stew is simmering, toast the bread in the broiler or in a toaster oven.  Rub with the crushed garlic clove and then drizzle olive oil over it and reserve.
  3. Pile the parsley leaves, lemon zest, and orange zest on a cutting board.  Run your knife through the pile until the parsley is finely chopped and the zests are incorporated into the parsley.  Reserve.
  4. To serve, arrange the garlic croutons in the bottom of 4 shallow soup bowls.  Ladle some of the stew on the top of the garlic croutons, toss a little of the zesty parsley sprinkle over the stew and serve.
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

