Skip to content

Lemony-Delicious Chicken with Artichokes and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

April 25, 2010

Lemony-Delicious Chicken with Artichokes and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

I worked ALL day yesterday, and so I have the luxury of starting my weekend on Sunday, instead of Saturday.  While I wouldn’t want to make a habit out of this schedule, I don’t mind having Monday free.  It helps make Sunday night a lot more fun when I don’t have to work on Monday.  🙂  I hung out with some girlfriends from work this afternoon (and some sweet babies, too!), and time totally got away from me — before I knew it, it was after 5 p.m., and I realized I was super hungry.  Marc spent his afternoon playing tennis and was also SUPER hungry.  I rushed home and started in on this dish, which I found on the blog, Dinners for a Year and Beyond.

Lucky for BOTH of us, this recipe was delicious and really quite easy.  The flavors are fresh and Mediterranean, which isn’t always my absolute favorite, but the combination of artichokes and sun-dried tomatoes really seal this recipe as a winner to me.  I think it is a great option for busy lifestyles — everything tastes so good, and it looks like you worked REALLY hard to pull this dish together, when in actuality, it takes very little time and very little preparation.  I think we both agree that I can make this dish at any point in the future.  It was well received!

Lemony-Delicious Chicken with Artichokes and Sun-Dried Tomatoes

from Dinner for a Year and Beyond

  • 4 chicken breast halves, sliced into cutlets (1 half breast = 2 cutlets)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Flour for dredging
  • 2 tbsp. butter, divided
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. white wine (we used white cooking wine)
  • 1 tbsp. Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 c. chicken stock
  • 1 14-oz. can of artichoke hearts
  • 8-10 sun-dried tomatoes (packed in oil), sliced into strips
  • 1/2 lemon, sliced very thin
  • Parsley
  1. Season chicken breasts with salt and pepper
  2. Dredge chicken breasts in flour
  3. Heat large saute pan over medium-high heat.  Add 1 tbsp. olive oil and 1 tbsp. butter.   Saute chicken until golden, about 4 minutes per side.  Remove from heat and place on plate and tent with foil to keep warm.
  4. In now-empty pan, add 1/4 c. white wine.  Scrape up any good chicken bits with a wooden spatula.  Bring to boil.  Whisk in Dijon mustard and chicken stock.  Blend all together.  Add butter with whisk until it melts and the sauce thickens up a bit.
  5. Add tomatoes, artichokes and lemons and heat through.  Do not let this mixture boil, so that the butter does not separate.
  6. Spoon sauce over chicken and serve immediately with your choice of side.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Nicole Willoughby permalink
    May 4, 2010 12:16 pm

    I made this recipe last Wednesday night and it turned out really well. Brett enjoyed the leftovers for lunch on Thursday. I didn’t have lemons and only had about 1/2 of the artichokes the recipe had called for and it still turned out good. I also used wheat flour to coat the chicken. The texture of the wheat flour gave the chicken a nice crispy crust. We served this entree with risotto (arborio rice) with asparagus tips mixed in the rice.

Leave a Reply

