Skip to content

Garlic-Dill Quick Pickles

August 3, 2010

Garlic-Dill Quick Pickles

Pickles!

No single word in my food life has ever been so omnipresent or excitement-inducing than pickles. The crisp, vinegary snap, the garlicky finish, and the fresh dill flavors truly take me back through my entire life. Why am I so passionate about pickles? It’s hard to put a specific finger on it, but it suffices to say that I am not alone in this insane addiction. My name is Marc, and I am addicted to pickles.

If any of you recall our New Years Day post this year, I set out a personal goal to pickle something, somehow. We, along with our super great downstairs neighbors, have been growing a number of vegetables and herbs in our little corner garden in the backyard. One item we are growing is the almighty cucumber, and we were given a nice fresh one from our neighbor Kirsten the other day For those that are paying attention, Elysabeth is not even remotely a fan of these, so I knew I would be eating this thing by myself. Instead of making a cucumber salad or the world’s most boring sub, I decided to make some pickles!

I read a number of recipes and techniques ranging from simple to extremely complicated, and finally settled on a quick refrigerator-style pickle. They don’t last very long (maybe about a week) but that would never be a concern in my house. I dishwashed an old Claussen baby dills jar and lid that we had from the grocery store and went to work. This was stupid easy, and there is definitely room for modifications in the flavors.

Garlic-Dill Quick Pickles (Makes 1 Small Jar)

  • 1 large or two kirby cucumbers, scrubbed and sliced into very thin rounds
  • 1 small jar and lid, cleaned thoroughly and dried
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 tbsp. chopped fresh dill
  • 1 tbsp. kosher salt
  • 1 tsp. pickling spices (i like Penzey’s)
  • 2 tsp. sugar
  • 3/4 cup vinegar
  • 1/2 cup water, plus more as needed
  1. Mix all ingredients except cucumbers in small saucepan and bring to a boil. Place cucumber slices in jar, squeezing to fit as many as possible.
  2. When liquid boils and salt and sugar dissolves, pour liquid (be careful!) over jar. If jar isn’t completely full, top with more water.
  3. Seal jar and place in refrigerator. Wait two hours and enjoy. That was easy!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

