Skip to content

Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Risotto

September 18, 2010

Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Risotto

Mmmm, fall!  I am so glad to see its arrival.  It’s my favorite time of year.  This year, as Marc has alluded to a few times, I have started a new job at EF Foundation for Foreign Study.  I’m really excited and last week was a very busy week, full of trainings and getting to know the position.  It’s almost like starting school again.  Every night left me extremely tired, just from the insane amount of information tossed at me.  I think my brain was at its saturation point as the weekend rolled in, so I was super glad to be at home and to be a little bit domestic.

After running errands, I had my work cut out for me.  I threw together batter for a loaf of banana bread (more to come on that one…) and Marc and I worked to prep a risotto.  I’ve made risotto a few other times, and have posted them here.  I do have to say that this was my absolute best attempt and my most favorite one.  I got the recipe from Cooking Light (my favorite, of course!), and it was just delicious.  I think I’ve mastered the temperature and timing of cooking a risotto, and honestly, I don’t mind all the stir-stir-stirring that you have to do to make it work.

This was quite a delicious dinner — completely filling, salty, warm, and full of mushroom goodness.  I loved it, and can’t wait to eat it for lunch on Monday.  I insist that you whip this up, when you have a crispy fall afternoon to do some cooking!

Spinach, Bacon and Mushroom Risotto

From Cooking Light May 2010

  • 4 c. chicken broth or stock
  • 6 bacon slices, chopped
  • 1 c. chopped shallots
  • 1 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. dry thyme
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 6 oz. crimini mushrooms, sliced
  • 6 oz. shiitake mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 c. Arborio rice
  • 1/3/ c. sherry
  • 4 c. baby spinach
  • 1/2 c. Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. ground black pepper
  1. Bring chicken broth or stock to a simmer in a small saucepan.  Be careful not to boil and keep warm over low heat.
  2. Heat a large Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add bacon to pan, and cook for 8 minutes, or until crisp, stirring occasionally.  Remove bacon from a pan with a slotted spoon.  Add shallots, oil, thyme, and garlic to bacon drippings.  Cook 6 minutes or so, until shallots are tender.  Stir in mushrooms, and cook 8 minutes until mushrooms are soft and a little goopy (in a good way!).
  3. Add rice and cook 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Stir in sherry, cook 1 minute, or until the liquid is nearly absorbed.  Stir in 2 ladles of broth/stock, and cook 4 minutes or until the liquid is absorbed, stirring constantly.  Add remaining stock, one ladle at a time until each ladle of broth has been absorbed completely.  Keep stirring the whole time.  This should take about 25 minutes total.  When finished, stir in spinach, and cook 1 minute.  Remove from heat, add bacon, cheese, salt and pepper.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. MomVicky permalink
    September 24, 2010 8:38 pm

    Elysa – Now this is a dish that I would love to try. I have never had risotto and the spinach,bacon, parmesan cheese and mushrooms would be just up my alley….It looks very appetizing and I think it would be delicious!

  2. September 25, 2010 2:59 pm

    mmmm….. I think this is going to be a special treat for Meggie when Buddy is at the library studying… There is a grocery store here that has a ton of different mushrooms you can buy by the pound and they’re pretty reasonably priced! Yay for Seattle! Miss you!!!! Glad to finally catch up on your blog!

Leave a Reply

