Skip to content

Lemony Chicken Salad

January 26, 2011

Lemony Chicken Salad

I sure do love any meal that I can make ahead of time, especially when that meal makes so many portions that you’re set for a while.  To me, chicken salad is the ULTIMATE in make ahead meals.  It takes a little time and care to put together, but it absolutely pays off in one bite, especially when you do let it sit in the fridge to “gel” together.

This chicken salad was a throw together with all the veggies we had in the fridge.  It is extra creamy, but not TOO mayo-ey, because it uses mostly Greek yogurt, with just a little dollop of mayo.  Plus, the lemon in the salad gives it a bright, tasty flavor.  I threw in some of my favorite Lemon Garlic seasoning (which I think I’ve had from my first apartment/single days, back in Wisconsin), and that just added a little tang, too.  I served the chicken salad on whole grain bread, but Marc said he thought it would be great with crackers — or on a salad, too.

Enjoy!

Lemony Chicken Salad

  • 3 cooked chicken breasts, shredded or cubed
  • 1/2 red pepper, diced
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 3 ribs celery, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 roma tomato, seeded and chopped
  • 3/4 c. Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 c. mayonnaise
  • 1 tbsp. chopped parsley
  • 1 tbsp. chopped cilantro
  • Lemon Garlic seasoning (or seasoning of your choice)
  • Salt and pepper (optional)
  • Juice of one lemon
  1. Combine all ingredients, adding salt and pepper.
  2. Chill for at least 2 hours, or overnight.
  3. Before serving, add juice from one lemon and combine.
  4. Serve and enjoy!  (EASY, right?)
One Comment leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 6:57 pm

    Yum, that looks delicious! I usually think of chicken salad as a summer food, I’m not sure why. I bet the lemon makes it taste a bit like summer. Thanks for taking the time to stop over and leave a comment on my blog.

Leave a Reply

