Skip to content

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

February 13, 2011

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

My stand mixer is getting a bit of a workout these days.  Last weekend, I baked some snickerdoodles and blondies to send to my mom and siblings, and this week, I decided to treat my co-workers (and Marc’s co-workers, too…) to these little bits of heaven, Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies.  I’ve never made these cookies before, but they’re adapted from a Martha Stewart recipe, and I thought it would be a good treat for Valentine’s Day.  (Note:  My office is doing an organized Cookie Swap tomorrow, but I didn’t sign up in time, so these cookies aren’t going to be a part of that, but they WILL be out for my dear co-workers who are all big fans of office snacks….)

Quick tip about these cookies:  You MUST use parchment paper when you make these.  I used parchment paper for 2 batches and the cookies came off beautifully.  The other 2 batches, I didn’t use parchment paper, figuring that the nonstick pan and buttery cookies would fare well, but nope … parchment paper needs to be used.  You will NOT regret it.  The cookies that were part of the no-parchment experiment, only half of them were pretty enough to be distributed among co-workers.  The other ones are in a “reject box” that will serve as our dessert for the next few days, I’m sure.

Enjoy these cookies — I can’t wait to make them again!

Peanut Butter Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

adapted from a recipe by Martha Stewart

  • 3 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 2 jumbo eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Stir together oats, flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl; set aside.
  2. Put sugars, butter, and peanut butter in the bowl of an electric mixer. Mix on medium speed until pale and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Mix in eggs and vanilla.
  3. Reduce speed to low. Add oat mixture, and mix until just combined. Mix in chocolate chips.
  4. Using a 1 1/2-inch cookie scoop, drop balls of dough 2 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper (yup, do this…or you’ll be sorry).
  5. Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until golden brown and just set, 13 to 15 minutes. Let cool on sheets on wire racks 5 minutes. Transfer cookies to wire racks to cool completely.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cecilia permalink
    February 13, 2011 8:41 pm

    I approve as there are NO RAISINS and Peanut Butter as you know is the quickest way to my heart!

    • February 13, 2011 8:42 pm

      We were trying to figure out if a switch of craisins for choco chips would be nice or gross. Thoughts?

  2. February 13, 2011 11:30 pm

    Mmm, oatmeal cookies made with peanut butter are the best kind. These look super delicious. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog until tomorrow evening and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your cookies up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweets-for-saturday-4.html

  3. February 18, 2011 1:33 am

    Thanks for linking these up to Sweets for a Saturday. Don’t forget to come by and enter my giveaway for a $25 item of your choice from CSN (open to all US residents). http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/crunchy-nut-cookies-and-giveaway-you.html

  4. February 19, 2011 9:34 am

    Oh my! I’m a lover of oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, but PB too? Be still my heart.

Trackbacks

  1. Greitai pagaminami avižiniai sausainiai [su žemės riešutų sviestu ir šokoladu] « tai, ką galima pamatyti, užuosti ir paragauti rūtuliuko virtuvėj..

Leave a Reply

