Skip to content

Korean-style Grilled Chicken Sandwiches

March 13, 2011

Korean-style Grilled Chicken Sandwiches

As any of our faithful readers, friends, or family may know, we do a fair amount of marinated grilled chicken in our house, especially on a bun with some veggies on the side. I was raised to marinate things overnight, and that’s how I roll to this day. The process also makes for quick weeknight meals during weeks when Elysabeth and I are both very pressed for time. I have been eyeing the pre-marinated meats at Hmart in Burlington for a while, but they only seem to sell them in large (> $10) packages with more than we need. I still wanted to try some Korean flavors, because I absolutely love the flavors of anything I’ve ever tried, from Galbi, to Bulgogi and Bibimbap. I wanted to emulate this a bit, so I got some Gochujang and went to town. I think this ended up somewhere in the territory of the Daeji Bulgogi that I usually get at one of our local delivery places, which was good enough for me! It’s a very simple marinade, and don’t be afraid to experiment. Also, I got a nice tub of the Gochujang for $3 at Hmart, and I will probably be putting it on my eggs, burgers, you name it!

Korean-style Grilled Chicken Sandwiches (Serves 4)

  • 4 thin cutlets of boneless skinless chicken breast
  • 3 tbsp. Gochujang
  • 3 tbsp. toasted sesame oil
  • 2 tbsp. (or more!) minced fresh garlic
  • buns
  • sides (we roasted some cauliflower)
  1. In a small bowl, combine Gochujang, sesame oil, and garlic with a fork until completely smooth.
  2. Place chicken pieces in a large zip-topped plastic bag.
  3. Pour marinade over chicken, press as much air as possible out of bag and zip up. Toss to coat chicken as evenly as possible.
  4. Place bag in refrigerator overnight, occasionally flipping it to distribute the contents evenly.
  5. Turn on your grill to excruciatingly high heat and take chicken out of the refrigerator to come up in temperature a bit.
  6. Grill chicken for a few minutes on each side, until just cooked through. Set pieces aside and toast buns in the remaining juices. Make yourself a sandwich and enjoy!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

