Skip to content

Kale Spinach Salad with Fried Wonton Strips

March 14, 2011

Kale spinach salad with fried wonton strips

 

This past weekend, while my wife was away on a business trip with Elysabeth of Saucy & Bossy, I decided to both clean out the fridge and try some adventurous new recipes.  The cleaning of the fridge was long overdue, and I discovered a package of wonton wrappers containing only a few remaining sheets.  There wasn’t enough to warrant making a batch of spring rolls or wonton soup, so I thought I would try frying them as a salad topping.  I did not have a recipe for this, so I just recalled my experience as a college student working at the local fast food joint.  You only need to use enough oil to cover whatever it is you are cooking, so paper thin wonton strips are a relativly easy thing to make.  I also opted for an oil with a high flash point, mainly to lessen the chance of burning myself while cooking.

To make the salad, I used veggies that I had in the fridge already, plus one that I have been meaning to try for a while: kale.  Kale is one of the most nutrient packed veggies out there, and comes in several varieties (including one called “dinosaur”, which I think is fantastic).  I decided to try red kale first, since it is sweeter.

The result was a quick meal for one, with leftover wonton strips that I planned on using in future salads, but which I actually ate the next day as a snack.  The kale had a strong but satisfying taste, and I am glad I pared it with the milder spinach greens.

Kale Spinach Salad with Fried Wonton Strips

  • Equal parts red kale and baby spinach leaves, enough to fill up the plate.
  • 1/2 of a red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/8 of an avocado, chopped
  • 1/8 of a red onion, chopped
  • grated fresh ginger, to taste
  • top with fried wonton strips, and dressing of your choice

To make fried wonton strips:

Cover a frying pan with about a 1/2 inch of high heat oil (I used safflower, but grapeseed is another option).  Heat oil to a simmer.  Cut wonton or spring roll wrappers into 1/2 inch strips.  Place strips into oil one at a time (layering is ok, they will not stick together).  Fry until strips are a light golden brown and stiff, about 3 to 5 minutes.  Place strips on paper towels and blot gently to remove excess oil.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 14, 2011 7:01 pm

    Huh, I never would have thought of combining kale and spinach, but I could see how it might work!

Leave a Reply

