Skip to content

Easy Ricotta Gnocchi

April 2, 2011

 

Easy Ricotta Gnocchi

I made gnocchi!  I am so excited!  I love these little pillow-shaped dumplings, because they are a) delicious and b) taste great with just about any sauce.  I’ve never considered making these before, because I have always been intimidated by any sort of pasta-or-dumpling making, especially when it came to making things from scratch.  But I learned that gnocchi doesn’t really have to be so hard at all.

In October, the month that I spent more time in Florida than in Massachusetts, I met up with Marc’s stepcousin, Dana, who lives outside of Ft. Lauderdale.  I had 6-7 hours to kill after a business meeting, and Dana let me come over and hang out at her place.  AND, she made me a homemade dinner (which was seriously a welcome change after several days of conference food)!  It was her youngest son’s birthday, and to celebrate, she made gnocchi, using ricotta, instead of potatoes.  Normally, I’m not a huge fan of ricotta in things like lasagna or stuffed shells, but in this gnocchi, you don’t really know that it’s there, and it stands in for the potatoes.  It really makes the preparation of this dish a snap … and quite frankly, I feel really accomplished in making this.

Marc threw together a great tomato basil sauce, which you can see above.  The best part of the gnocchi, though, is that you can serve it with your favorite kind of sauce.  The next time I made this, I might try it with a marsala-type sauce, possibly with a little prosciutto, too.

This is so easy, I can see myself making this again — especially for company!

 

Naked Gnocchi

Easy Ricotta Gnocchi

from The Kitchn

  • 1 (16-oz) container whole-milk ricotta
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/2 c. grated parmesan
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 – 1 c. flour
  1. Line a strainer with coffee filters or paper towel, over a bowl.  Add the ricotta and let the cheese drain for about an hour.
  2. In a large bowl, mixed the strained ricotta, egg, cheese and 3/4 cup of the flour until all the ingredients are incorporated.  Cover and refrigerate for 15 minutes.
  3. Check the dough by rolling a small bit in your hand.  If it sticks to your finger like bubble gum, incorporate more flour, 1 tbsp. at a time.  It should be a bit tacky, but a workable consistency.  Refrigerate for another 15 minutes.
  4. Before shaping, bring a large pot of water to a boil on the stove.  Sprinkle a baking sheet with flour and set it close to your workspace.
  5. Sprinkle your hands and work surface with a little flour.  Break off a tennis-ball sized piece of dough and roll it into a log about 3/4 – 1/2 inch thick.
  6. Using a dough blade, cut the log into 3/4″ pieces.  I didn’t roll them on the back of a fork like the traditional preparation, but you certainly can if you’d like to.
  7. Transfer each batch to the baking sheet and toss with flour to prevent from sticking.  Repeat process with the remaining dough.
  8. Plop half the gnocchi in the water and gently stir.  Once the gnocchi bobs to the surface, let them cook an additional 2 minutes.  Remove the gnocchi with a slotted spoon and transfer to a colander set over a bowl to finish draining.
  9. Repeat with the rest of the gnocchi.
  10. Toss the gnocchi with sauce and serve immediately!
One Comment leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    April 2, 2011 9:01 pm

    Those look divine! And thanks for the ricotta tip! A few months back I had my first attempt at gnocchi, using sweet potatoes. They were incredibly tasty…and incredibly time consuming. But a little sweet potato went a long way. I froze the extra uncooked gnocchi and had quick and easy dinners for several more days.

Leave a Reply

