Skip to content

Spicy Asian Pork Meatloaf

April 6, 2011

Spicy Asian Pork Meatloaf

I cannot believe it’s only Wednesday! This has been a very funny week for me, schedule-wise. I worked a partial day yesterday to accept delivery of our new dryer, and worked a partial day today for a doctor’s appointment. It has left me with an odd sense of timing all week, and I am very glad to get back to a normal schedule for the remaining days of the week.

Being that I knew I was going to have a bit of extra time this evening, I decided that I wanted to make some Asian Cabbage Rolls, from a lovely recipe I found on Food o’del Mundo. I have never made stuffed cabbage before, even though it is something I have eaten many times, and I felt like it was my time to try it. By the time I had torn the fifth straight cabbage leaf, I realized that I had to make a plan B. I didn’t have any other vegetables to wrap the filling, and nothing else was really coming to mind, so I settled on the next best thing: meatloaf!

I took the filling from the recipe, shaped it into two loaves (one of which I froze for another day), got out a baking sheet and some parchment paper, and preheated the oven. I used the sauce from the recipe as a glaze and some gravy, and baked until my meat thermometer read 160 degrees. After a small rest period I sliced it and served it on top of the leftover Sushi rice from the other night, with some of the extra sauce drizzled on top. I am happy to say it was very tasty, and was a great recovery! This is pretty spicy, so if that’s not your jam, back off a bit (or totally leave out) the sambal and sriracha.

Spicy Asian Pork Meatloaf (makes 2 loaves, 8 servings total)

Loosely adapted from Food o’del Mundo

Meatloaf:

  • 2 lbs. ground pork
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tbsp. chopped garlic
  • 2 tbsp. freshly grated ginger
  • 1 cup shredded carrots
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. fish sauce
  • 2 tbsp. soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp. sambal oelek
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  2. Layout parchment paper on a baking sheet.
  3. Combine all ingredients in a large mixing bowl, and form into two loaves on baking sheet. Freeze one now if you’re not planning on making both.
  4. Bake for approximately 45 minutes or until meat thermometer reads 160 degrees Fahrenheit. Brush with sauce (below) every 15 minutes or so.
  5. When finished cooking, remove from oven and let rest for at least 5 minutes (don’t pull out the thermometer until it’s rested!).
  6. Cut each loaf into 8 slices, and drizzle with the remaining sauce. Don’t forget to save some sauce if you froze the other loaf.

Sauce:

  • 1/4 cup soy sauce
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 3 tbsp. oyster sauce
  • 1 tbsp. dark sesame oil
  • 1 tbsp. fish sauce
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp. sriracha
  • 1 3/4 cups beef broth (1 15 oz. can)
  • 1 tbsp. honey
  • 2 tbsp. corn starch
  1. Whisk all ingredients together in a medium sauce pan over medium-high heat.
  2. Bring to a boil, stirring occasionally, and reduce to a simmer. Brush on meatloaf as it cooks and save the rest to drizzle on top!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    April 6, 2011 8:25 pm

    I am so adding this to our dinner list for next week!

  2. foododelmundo permalink
    April 7, 2011 7:53 pm

    Wonderful! So glad you are creative and figured out another use for the filling. I made a lovely Asian Meatball soup with it. I almost believe it was just as tasty and a LOT less work than trying to fill those danged cabbage leaves!
    Thanks for the plug!
    ~ Mary

  3. Nicole permalink
    April 29, 2011 6:49 pm

    I forgot to cook quinoa before making it. It still turned out. The sauce topping was a bit salty and only required a very little bit. Keeper recipe for the meat loaf though.

    • Marc permalink*
      April 30, 2011 9:52 am

      Agreed on the salty. It worked well as a brushed glaze during the cooking, and we really only put a few spoonfuls of it over the finished slices. Glad you enjoyed it though!

Leave a Reply

