Skip to content

Broccoli Parmesan Soup

May 7, 2011

Broccoli Parmesan Soup

I have a LOT to say about this soup, and not all of it connects in a neat and organized line.  Therefore, in lieu of a coherent and organized post, you’ll get a bulleted list.

  • I do not normally enjoy soups that are creamy/have been finished with cream — I am more of a brothy gal.  I have had a taste for a broccoli soup lately that wasn’t full of cheese, and just finished with a little bit of cream.  This definitely fit the bill.
  • I also do not normally care for soups that are pureed, because I like “chunks” of veggies.  I do think that broccoli soups, by nature, need to be somewhat smooth.  I busted out the stick blender, and it worked well for this.
  • I don’t do well with being contrary, so it’s hard for me to admit the two statements above.  I appreciate you still being my friend.  🙂
  • Broccoli is full of vitamin C.  I have been slacking on eating my oranges lately, so it’s clear that I needed to make up for lost time with this soup.
  • When I was in college, I worked at a bank in a town called Cedarburg.  My friend Carrie lives there, still.  It’s a sweet, little quaint town, with lots of restaurants and little shops.  One of the best restaurants in the area was a little place called the Cream and Crepe Cafe — everything there is super delicious (and cheesy — it is Wisconsin, after all), including a soup called (I think) a Cream of Normandy soup.  It was a blend of broccoli, cauliflower and carrots, and oh my, it was delicious.  I think next time, I’m going to add this cauliflower to this, which will give it an added dimension of sweetness, for sure.
  • My dear friend Megan Caplan is a huge broccoli fanatic (I’m talking HUGE), and I’m pretty sure that this soup would be her cup of tea.
  • My freezer is overrun with soup right now.  Someone, please take it off of my hands!  I have so much.
  • I’m completely exhausted and I fully appreciate you reading this disjointed post.  Don’t take the higgledy-piggledy nature of my writing to imply anything negative about the soup.  Make it and enjoy it.  You won’t be sorry!

Without much further ado, I present to you this Broccoli and Parmesan Soup (adapted from a recipe from the Food Network’s Down Home with the Neelys).

Broccoli Parmesan Soup

  • 4 tablespoons butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 lbs. broccoli (including stems), chopped into large chunks
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 3 medium carrots, chopped
  • 3 tbsp. all purpose flour
  • 4 c. chicken broth or stock
  • 1/2 c. light cream
  • 1/2 c. grated Parmesan cheese
  1. Melt butter in a stock pot over medium-high heat.  Add broccoli, onion, carrots and garlic to pot, and saute until onion is translucent, about 6 minutes.
  2. Add flour over vegetables and stir through.  Cook for at least 1 minute, if not slightly longer.  Add stock and bring to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat and let simmer about 15-20 minutes, or until broccoli is tender.  Pour in cream.
  4. Blend soup to desired consistency with an immersion (or stick) blender.  If you do not have an immersion blender, you can blend soup in batches in your blender.  When using a stick blender, make sure to keep blender low in pot and turn off before bringing it to the top, or soup will splatter.
  5. Warm soup through but do not boil, or cream will break.  Stir in Parmesan cheese.
  6. Season with salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, garlic powder and/or onion powder.
  7. Spoon into bowls, and let cool slightly for flavors to gel.  Serve with croutons or crusty bread.  (We topped our soups with tiny bits of queso fresco that we had leftover from another meal.)
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    May 13, 2011 7:57 pm

    I can’t wait to make this! I LOVE the Cream and Crepe Cafe and now I might have to take a little trip to Cedarburg this weekend. Thanks for another great recipe!

    • Erin permalink
      June 18, 2012 1:30 pm

      love this…making it as we speak…thank you

Leave a Reply

