Skip to content

Greek-Style Minestrone

January 15, 2012

Greek-Style Minestrone

Ahhhh, Soup Sunday.  It’s my favorite thing about cooking.  Soup, as I have long mentioned, is my favorite food, and so nothing makes me happier than tending to a giant pot of soup.  I happened to make about a thousand gallons of this soup (I doubled everything … but for your benefit, I’m sticking to the regular ratios!).  I’m glad I did, though, because this soup is well worth it.

This recipe comes from my new soup cookbook (The Big Book of Soups and Stews, which I received for Christmas from my grandparents).  I hope to make a few more recipes from it this year, because there are some great ones!  This was a good one to start with, as it has a ton of veregbales, which is good for your post-holiday detox!  Enjoy!

 

Greek-Style Minestrone

from The Big Book of Soups and Stews

 

  • 1/2 c. chopped onion
  • 1/2 small eggplant, unpeeled and cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 carrots, coarsely chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, coarsley chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 c. chicken stock or broth
  • 1 can tomato juice
  • 1 can small white beans, drained and rice
  • 1 large (28 oz.) can diced tomatoes, with juice
  • 1-2 c. chicken, pulled from a rotisserie chicken
  • 1 zucchini, quartered lengthwise and cut into 1/2 inch slices
  • 2 tbsp. dill weed, coarsely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. Greek seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1/2 c. crumbled feta
  1. In a large soup pot over night heat, combine onion, eggplant, carrots, celery, garlic, stock, tomato juice and tomatoes.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, until vegetables are tender, at least 25 minutes.
  2. Increase heat to medium and add beans, zucchini, chicken, dill, Greek seasoning, salt and pepper.  Simmer for 10 minutes.  Stir in lemon juice, and simmer an additional 5 minutes.  Ladle into bowls and sprinkle with feta.
One Comment leave one →
  1. Alison Rand permalink
    January 29, 2012 11:32 am

    Mmmmm, this looks delicious! I’m inspired to make soup today. 🙂

    -Alison

Leave a Reply

